Meet the Staff

All staff at St. Michael’s CE Academy work as part of a supportive team who nurture, encourage and inspire our pupils. They are excellent role models, holding high personal and professional standards and are dedicated to delivering outstanding teaching and learning for all our pupils. Please see the list below of all the staff, the positions they hold and respective responsibilities for 2020-2021.



Senior Leadership

Faz Islam (Headteacher)

Rachel Smith (Deputy Headteacher)

Helen Boutle (Assistant Headteacher - SENDCO)



Teachers Class based

Middle Leader Responsibility


Teaching Assistant

Kiran Barraclough



Keeley Pick, Laura Biglands, (Nicola Elsworth am/Donna Bedford pm)

Helen Hudson

Design Technology and Outdoor Ed


Anita Woodhall

Karen Smith

Laura Copley (0.5) and Grace Lythe (0.5)



Ruth Fothergill

Natalie Munday

Read Write Inc

Year 1

Julie Gilbertson

Lindsey Singh

Modern Foreign Languages

Year 1

Karen Wilson

Rose Scholes (0.5) and Nicola Furness (0.5)

Guided Reading/History

Year 2

Clare Maher (Maternity Cover)

Kirsty Butler

Maternity Cover

Year 2

Carla Mersini

Rebecca Austerfield

RE and Collective Worship

Year 3

Rebecca Walker

Laura Dews


Year 3

Kirsty Green

Deborah Berry


Year 4


Emma Kemshell

Maternity Cover

Year 4

Tracy Young

Richard Butcher

Physical Education

Year 5

Louise Preston-Davies

Emily Shaw

Maternity Cover

Year 5

Sue Major

Lyn Gray

Senior Leader

Year 6

Karen Worthington

Paul Tattersfield


Year 6

Jane Denison (am),Salma Khan (pm)


Non class based teaching and support staff

Allison Robinson - Teacher (EAL - Part-time 2 days)

Angela Batley (Pastoral Mentor)

Kelly Jones (Pastoral Mentor)

Alex Stott (Sports Leader – ACES)

Sarah Osborne (Yew Tree Drama Specialist for PSHCE)

Professional Dance Teachers by Yew Tree.



Resource Provision Teaching Assistants (SEND)

Cheryl Townend

Sue Hirst

Carol Babbage

Linda Blakey  -- Also Angie Batley


Little Learners Staff

Carole Hill (Manager)

Donna Bedford (am)

Debra Race



Yvonne Crossland (Business Manager)

Zoe Parkin

Sue Milner

Susie Murphy

Tamzin Barker (Attendance Officer)


Lunchtime Supervisors and Other Lunchtime Staff

Carly Rhodes

Rebecca Oszko

Carol Oszko

Gemma Williamson

Beverley Clayton

Elena Brooke

Jane Kenney-Douglas

Sharon Foster

Louise Preston-Davies

Charlotte Colenutt

Cheryl Townsend

Linda Blakey

Jeanette Sharples

Yasmeen Shakoor

Stephanie Brook

Tracy Young